Amazon Web Services/DeleteQueue

Loading the complete reference automatically…

Amazon Web ServicesAmazon SQS message-queue API

DeleteQueue

Deletes the queue specified by the QueueUrl, regardless of the queue's contents.

Be careful with the DeleteQueue action: When you delete a queue, any messages in the queue are no longer available.

When you delete a queue, the deletion process takes up to 60 seconds. Requests you send involving that queue during the 60 seconds might succeed. For example, a

SendMessage request might succeed, but after 60 seconds the queue and the message you sent no longer exist.

When you delete a queue, you must wait at least 60 seconds before creating a queue with the same name.

Cross-account permissions don't apply to this action. For more information, see Grant cross-account permissions to a role and a username in the Amazon SQS Developer Guide.

The delete operation uses the HTTP GET verb.

The complete 23-action Amazon Simple Queue Service API, preserving AWS JSON 1.0, AWS Query compatibility, SigV4, and regional endpoint rules. The web Playground does not yet have an AWS SigV4 and region-selection execution adapter; use the local SDK/CLI to call SQS.

Request

operationId
DeleteQueue
Server
https://sqs.{Region}.{PartitionResult#dnsSuffix}
Authentication
awsSigV4

Request parameters

No URL, query, or header parameters.

Request body

stringrequired

Responses

200

object

Successful response.

error

string

Declared service error

{}